Dream {Five Minute Friday}

This post is a part of Five Minute Friday, a writing flash mob that happens every week when writers are prompted by a single word to write for 5 minutes without any major editing. Just raw thoughts and emotions. You can find out more and/or join the party here.

 

 

For the longest time, when anyone asked me what my dream was I would just blankly stare at them and shrug my shoulders.  It was a frustrating feeling; not knowing what my dream was.  I of course had the typical dreams, marriage, kids, something to do with horses, and the perfect little small town where everyone knew me.  But, I didn’t have a dream, a passion, that drove me towards a high and lofty goal.  I felt like there was something wrong with me because I was lacking in this, this having a dream.  It was at around 23 that God planted a small seed that would grow into the dream I have today.  In a prophecy I received, I was told that I had a book in me.  I laughed it off then, but some ten years later He reminded me of that Sunday so long ago when my friend had spoken into my life.  It was time to give wings to the dream God had planned for me.  That’s how this blog was born as a way to find my writing voice before jumping into writing a book.

If you are like I was and are wondering through life wondering what’s wrong with you.  Wondering why you don’t have a dream.  If you’re frustrated because you don’t yet know what your dream is, just wait, God has a plan for you.  He has the perfect dream for you that He will plant in your heart at just the right time so that it can grow into exactly what He wants for you.  I encourage you to open up your Bible and read Jeremiah 29:11.  It is my life verse and I go back to it often when things are unclear to me.

 

Godspeed,

Mollie  ❤

 

8 thoughts on “Dream {Five Minute Friday}

  1. I just left a comment over on jeanne’s blog about this, so I’ll try not to be redundant. Everyone seems to be writing about the dream of writing tonight, and it’s really getting under my skin. I’ve longed to write a book, but fear stops me cold. I feel…less-than, I guess. Like who would want to read anything I write?

    I don’t share this to get pity. I just really think that God is telling me something through this painful prodding.

    Like

    • I have found along the way that when God wants you to do something, He’ll do whatever it takes, including making you uncomfortable, until you give in and do it. By the way; I said He said it was time, not that I had necessarily started, or have any idea what I’m doing! I encourage you to throw caution to the wind and take a step out in faith. I was terrified when I pushed publish on a blog post for the first time, but I wouldn’t trade what I have gained by it for anything. AS I said in last week’s prompt post, fear is the opposite of faith. I be here to encourage you along the journey! We can do it together. 🙂

      Like

  2. Such lovely and powerful encouragement, Mollie! I think we dreamers tend to forget that dreams don’t always come fast and furious… sometimes there are long seasons where we are waiting to know what to hope for! (Funny – how quickly we forget that once we have a dream again! Or maybe that’s just me!) 😉

    Like

  3. love this. God is truly God of the impossible isn’t he. Sometimes he calls us to things that we can’t even imagine…well most of the time he does that actually. Because its only through HIM that this could ever have a hope of coming true 😉 love this. so excited that you are on this journey!! love you friend

    Like

Leave a Reply

