Meet {Five Minute Friday}

 

This post is a part of Five Minute Friday, a writing flash mob that happens every week when writers are prompted by a single word to write for 5 minutes without any major editing.  Just raw thoughts and emotions.  You can find out more and/or join the party here.

 

Do you ever think about all the millions and billions of people walking this Earth who you will never meet? 

  I have always been a people watcher, but this is different from that.  Sometimes lately, when I’m out, when I’m sitting in a Starbucks watching people walk in and out, or walking down the grocery store isle past them, or even passing them on the road, I am struck by the sheer volume of people in this world who I will never know.  I wonder about their lives, about their families.  Do they know God?  Are they happy?  What does a day in their world look like?  If we met would we be friends?

Do you ever wonder about these things?  Or is it just me?

And sometimes I think, one decision made differently, 15 years back, and how would my life look different?  Who would I have met along the way, who I will never meet now on this life path that I’m on?

Just some things to ponder…  🙂

Godspeed,

Mollie  ❤

 

 

17 thoughts on “Meet {Five Minute Friday}

  1. I sometimes think those thoughts, too, Mollie :). I’m a quietly nosy person and wish I knew more to fulfill my nosy curiosity. I guess the really important thing is–do they know that Jesus loves them? How can I communicate that message to strangers (I’m an introverted chicken)?

    Like

    • I think that the way we communicate Jesus to them is to simply live the message authentically. Be the example. Push away the expectations of perfectionism, admit our downfalls and run whole heartedly down the path.
      It brings to mind a quote from the DC Talk song What If I Stumble. ” The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today is Christians who acknowledge Jesus with their lips, then walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.”
      It the walk, not the words, that is more important.

      Like

  2. No, you aren’t the only one to wonder these things!! 🙂 It’s crazy to think how much one decision could’ve drastically altered our lives! I always knew I had a calling to the mission field but I let fear stop me from going out of the country. I think about that often and wonder how people will not know Christ because of that decision. But then I think of God’s goodness and plan for our lives and He knew what choices would be made. He loves His people wants them to come to Him. I have to trust in His sovereignty. Good thoughts! #fmfparty

    Like

    • Trust in Him is so important. I have a few of those “one decision different” moments in my life that I linger on sometimes and truly wonder how different life would have been if I had chosen the other path. He already knew the decisions we would make. He made every part of us. He knows us completely, and we have to trust in that. Thank you so much Amy!

      Like

  3. I sometimes wonder those things too Mollie. I’m a people watcher too! I think part of me yearns to know their stories too.

    Like

  4. I think there are many of us who wonder about these things, Mollie 🙂 It is amazing the manner in which God crosses paths causing people to meet. And I think this is the very first time I have visited your blog so… “Very nice to MEET you, Mollie!” 🙂 Have a great Friday!

    Like

  5. Mollie, the thought that goes through my mind when I see people, “is there anyone praying for them?” I have always had the blessing of being prayed for in my life, all my life. I think of those who have no one praying for them. Fills me with sadness.

    Like

    • Wow, I’ve never thought about that. Probably because I didn’t grow up with the prayer backing. All you can do is heed the call to pray for them when your heart is burdened and trust that God is in control, and He has it all handled. 🙂

      Like

  6. Me too! I’m always curious what their stories are. I often think on the early years with my boyfriend (now husband) when we had a bad argument and broke up. What would have happened if we never got back together?! Eeek! So glad His ways are higher!!

    Like

  7. There is much to ponder about your post!!! Each day we walk or drive in front or behind many people who we’ll never know them, but what we can do for them is just as simple as smiling and maybe it can be a sunshine in there life. Thank you for your post Amy!!!

    Like

    • Yes, sometimes all we can do is be the light in a dark world. We have a saying at my church; sometimes we are the only Jesus they see all week. I try to keep that in mind as I go out into the world.

      Like

Leave a Reply

