Relief {Five Minute Friday}

This post is a part of Five Minute Friday, a writing flash mob that happens every week when writers are prompted by a single word to write for 5 minutes without any major editing.  Just raw thoughts and emotions.  You can find out more and/or join the party here.

 

 

Relief!  That feeling when the weight of the world suddenly lifts from your shoulders and you can breathe again.  That’s relief.  But how do you find relief when the storm clouds start to roll in and the darkness settles in to stay for awhile?

We were talking about one way on twitter tonight, girlfriend gatherings.  Grab some friends who you like to laugh with, who won’t be put off by those looming storm clouds, and let the healing salve of friendship smooth away those raw emotions and restore clear skies once again.

Other ways?  Get out of the house.  Sometimes a change of scenery is just what you need to adjust your mood.  Not an option?  No problem.  Crank the music up loud and have a dance party. (No it’s not weird if you do it by yourself.  😉 ) Indulge, just a little bit, in your favorite things.  Maybe you’re like me and you have a hard time remembering what those things that make you happy are while you’re in the middle of the storm clouds. Confession: I keep a list of those things that make my world a little brighter tucked away in the pages of my Bible, because sometimes I forget what they are.  If nothing else works, do something to make your kids laugh.  I dare you to maintain your mood while kids are laughing.  I Dare You.

What are some of the things that bring you relief when the storm clouds are settling in?

Godspeed,

Mollie  ❤

 

15 thoughts on “Relief {Five Minute Friday}

  1. Mollie, this is great! I can hear through the words your humor. I bet you’re hilarious to hang out with. I’m actually a random dancer at any given moment and my kids used to give the whole {oh no you didn’t} head shake and all and now they join in. They are soon to be 18 and 20. I love to take walks and turn off all work when I need relief. A double scoop strawberry ice-cream cone is always nice too. Thank you for reaching out. I’m so glad to be a part. #fmfparty

    Like

    • My boys just join in, or ignore me completely. LOL They are 5 and very nearly 7. My happy place is a very large cup of coffee, currently the tiramisu latte from Starbucks! Pure bliss. 🙂 Welcome to FMF! It truly is a wonderful place to find a home in the blogosphere!

      Like

  2. GREAT post! Thank you! [Great tip about leaving a list of your ‘happy things’ where you’re bound to stumble across it (it is all too easy to lose sight of them, unfortunately)….]. Totally agree with you on the ‘maintaining a bad mood/heavy frame of mind when your children are in the middle of laughing fits…! My happy? Running. Peace and quiet. Cooking. Baking. Uninterrupted ‘reading for pleasure’ time….loved your post! {A FMF friend}

    Like

  3. Love that you keep a list in your bible – that’s a great idea! Like you, I find a change of scenery helps me – trying not to get stalled in the problems or sit and marinate, but get up and move onto something or someone else. Blessed by your encouraging FMF words today. 🙂

    Like

  4. Hi Mollie! When the storm clouds roll in, I find relief in reminding myself Who is in charge. If the wind and waves obey Him, so will the storm clouds. I enjoyed your truth-filled post. Thank you so much for helping me keep my focus where it needs to be! Bless you! Following you at FMF.

    Like

Leave a Reply

