Advent, He is coming!

December 1st has dawned upon the Earth. Advent is here. Did you know that the word Advent comes from the Latin and means coming. It is time to wait for His coming. In just 24 short days we celebrate the coming of the Savior, the Messiah, the King of Kings, Lord of Lords, the Great I Am… The list could go on and on. His names are numerous. How are you waiting for His coming? Are you just sitting by and letting it sneak up on you, or are you being intentional in your waiting, active in your waiting? This is my first year taking part in Advent. My faith has been lukewarm of late and as such my life feels like it has veered severely off the path it should be following.

So today I decide to actively wait.  Not only for me, but for my children as well.  We are going to learn the true meaning behind the season together.  I will be reading along with Ann Voskamp‘s The Greatest Gift Advent study,

20141201_091924

as well as the Unwrapping the Greatest Gift family study with my boys.  I say this fully knowing that I’m a book dork, but if you haven’t had a chance to look at this one I highly suggest dropping by your local bookstore and taking a look.  It is a beautiful book!  The photo doesn’t do it justice.


20141201_084316

 

Join me on my Twitter page as I tweet along with my study!  What are you doing for Advent?  Are you doing this study or another one?  What’s your favorite thing that you learned today?  Leave a comment below so we can all learn from each other!

 

Godspeed,

Mollie  ❤

4 thoughts on “Advent, He is coming!

  1. Hi Mollie! I’m in your #fmfpartysnailmail group, I thought I’d pop over and get you know you a bit:-)

    I love Advent! We’re keeping things really simple this year, like usual really. I’m doing the SheReadsTruth Advent devotion by myself and also sharing it with my family. We have a large stack of books to read through and of course we’ll be reading straight from the Bible as well.

    We’re Orthodox Christians so we’ll be celebrating St. Nicholas Day on the 6th, handmade chocolate coins in the shoes and a few books for all 5 of my kiddos to share.

    I was actually hoping to add Unwrapping the Greatest Gift to our collection but just couldn’t fit it in the budget, there’s always next year!

    Wishing you a beautiful Advent this year!

    Like

    • Your traditions sounds beautiful! This is our first year doing the Advent thing. My boys are 4,but turning 5 in three days, and 6. Unwrapping the Greatest Gift may be a little bit over their heads still, but my oldest asked to read the days passage this morning. I am not familiar with Orthodox Christian practices, but handmade chocolate sounds wonderful. 🙂 Hope your Advent celebrations go well this year! Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  2. Hey Mollie, I am getting completely wrecked reading Ann’s book during Advent. God is doing such a work in my heart. So thankful to do life with you on the other side of the screen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

