Dare To Be Brave

Day 4 of 31 of my series 31 Days of Walking in Love.

photo credit: jjay69 via photopin cc

photo credit: jjay69 via photopin cc

  I realize there has been a long pause between days 3 and 4 in my series, we all fall down sometimes, but I am jumping back in the saddle and continuing my journey of walking in love.  Thank you to all who are still with me and those who will join me along the way.

 This post is a part of Five minute Friday, a writing flash mob that happens every week when writers are prompted by a single word to write for 5 minutes without any major editing. Just raw thoughts and emotions. You can find out more and/or join the party here.  Tonight’s word is BRAVE.

Go–

The present state of this world sometimes makes me so sad.  People are so very afraid of their own emotions. Too afraid of what people with think or say, or afraid that they will be rejected, so they don’t say anything at all.  This lack of communication is bringing us down.  Sometimes all you need to hear is that someone loves you.  So, today I challenge you to make your declarations, be it of like or love.  Just tell them.  Be sure that every person you would miss knows that you would miss them.  Walk up to that person you have never spoken to and tell them that you would like to get to know them.  Tell your best friend, who just happens to be of the opposite sex, that you have been harboring an all consuming crush/love for them for years.  What’s the worst that can happen?  They say they don’t feel the same way?  Would that really really kill you?  I know it might hurt for a little while, but every one that isn’t the right one brings you one step closer to the one that God made for you.

photo credit: Robert Scales via photopin cc

photo credit: Robert Scales via photopin cc

I know when I watch friends celebrating anniversaries, or new marriages there is a place in my heart that aches for that kind of love.  Wouldn’t it be sad if you missed out on it because you were too afraid to put yourself out there and let your feelings be known?

–Stop

Reminder, this post is a part of write31days, a writing challenge to post to my blog every day in October, as well as a part of Kate Motaung’s challenge to write those posts in just five minutes.

Godspeed,

Mollie  ❤

18 thoughts on “Dare To Be Brave

  1. Wise words–let people that you’d miss know how much you’d miss them. And especially how much you appreciate them now! I don’t do this often enough. Thank you for the reminder! And good for you for keeping on with the challenge despite setbacks :). You can do it!

    Like

    • Thanks Anita! I am soldering on. 🙂
      I am a wear my heart on my sleeve kind of girl, so it is virtually impossible for me to keep my emotions hidden, but I could also use the reminder to convey appreciation to those around me.

      Like

  2. Amen, my friend! So much Amen! So often, we assume others know how we feel or what we think but it takes so little effort to say the words and it can make all the difference!

    Like

  3. This is a powerful dare! And a good one! Certainly, where all my wonderful friends and family are concerned, I’m sure I’ve said it in the past, but it’s good to do every day! I also love your phrase ‘every one that isn’t the right one brings you one step closer to the one that God made for you.’ The last relationship I had was a huge adventure and risk for both of us to show our feelings and say ‘I love you’… lots learned, but sadly it was not to be.

    Like

  4. Isn’t this the truth!?! Life is far too short to live without love. I’m also a big believer in building in your love language into the everyday. That’s not always in words but also in deeds, touches and simple truths shared. Thanks for the important reminder.

    Like

  5. Such wonderful advice Mollie! I think it’s really easy to assume people know how much we care about them, or how big a void they would leave in our lives if they were gone. But really, do they? Have we made that clear? Are we really showing it?

    Like

  6. You hit the nail on the head. Too many people fear the emotions inside them whether they are loud and passionate or quiet and reserved. Be who you are. Speak the words that express your heart. God loved you and created you unique. Don’t hide that handiwork.

    Like

  7. Super good. Brene Brown says that the word “courage” actually means “to speak the heart.” It takes a lot of bravery to speak out loud to another person how we feel. I will be cheering you on if you decide to finish your 31 Days. Thank you for sharing with me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

