Mommy anxiety prayer

It’s the beginning of the school year in our neck of the woods.  Bookbags are packed and hung on their hooks.  New school clothes are washed and neatly put away, ready to be torn apart in the morning by excited, or sometimes not so excited, littles as they get ready to head off to the first day of their new school year.  And mommies are wiping tears from their cheeks at the mere thought of tomorrow.

003

I will be sending off a Pre-K and a 1st grader in the morning.  It will be the first full day of school for my younger son.  (We have a program here called More at Four, where they go to school on the elementary school grounds for a 1/2 hour less than the normal school day.  I was worried about that being too long for them at that age at first, but my older son went two years ago and loved it!  The teacher at our school is amazing.  We love Mrs. Jill!)  Tonight in my discipleship group one of the mommas voiced an anxious prayer request for herself as her daughter and her soon to be step-son both start kindergarten tomorrow.  So we prayed as tears rolled down her cheeks.  I remember that anxiety that tried to well up inside me last year as I dropped off my Kindergartener each day.  I know I know, it was his second year of full school days, I should have been used to him being in school by then, but I swear there is something about it being KINDERGARTEN that just made it harder.  I don’t know why.  I shared with her a prayer born out of that anxiety that I prayed over each of my sons in the mornings before I dropped them off at school last year.  I thought I would share it with each of you as well.

 

Father, I release my sweet baby into your hands.  I pray that you would keep him safe.  I pray that you open his mind so that he learns big things,  quiet his emotions so that he stays out of trouble, and I pray that you would help him to make friends who will point him straight back to you.  I pray that you guard the gateways of his eyes and ears, and please please guard his purity and innocence.  In your Holy Name we pray.  Amen.

 

Every morning after we had pulled into the parking lot of each of their schools the son getting out would climb into the front seat and hold my hand as I prayed this over him.  They always said Amen with me.  This daily prayer really did help my mommy anxiety.  I was able to go about my day and not worry about them.  I hope this prayer brings comfort to some of you.  🙂  I will be praying for each of you in the morning as I too battle the first day of school mommy emotions.

 

Godspeed,

Mollie  ❤

4 thoughts on “Mommy anxiety prayer

  1. Love that you shared this with all of us. Love how intentional you were/are with praying over your boys and intentionally using God’s power to calm your anxious heart. Thank you for being an example to the rest of us moms with kiddos starting kindergarten this week!

    Like

  2. It’s been a long time since I sent my babies off to kindergarten. My heart truly feels for the mamas that are doing this and I stand with then in the beautiful prayer.

    Like

    • There is something about dropping them off for the first day of school that just gets us mommas. With mine in Pre-K and 1st grade today, I am already tearing up and they aren’t even awake yet. LOL

      Like

Leave a Reply

