Worship Wednesday — Joy

With a Facebook news feed full of talk of depression this week, I am dedicating today’s worship Wednesday to joy.  While with true depression it takes a measure more than music to make a difference, for your everyday, run of the mill doldrums, music can lift you right out of it.  We all need a renewed spirit and for our focus to be redirected at times.  This song has been my companion on many a blah kinda day.  It was recommended to me by my dear friend Colleen on just such a day many years ago.  Since then this song has served to bring me out of the dullest of moods in a matter of minutes, or maybe after it’s played a few times, depending on the kinda day I was having.  It lifts my spirits and can turn my attitude right around, pointing my focus back to where it rightly belongs, on the Lord.  I hope you enjoy it!

Rita Springer

I Want the Joy

 

I want the joy of the Lord to come now
I want the joy of the Lord to fall now
I want the joy of the Lord in my life

I want the joy of the Lord lift me
I want the joy of the Lord change me
I want the joy of the Lord in my life

Its time I started dancing over all these graves
Its time I gave you all my God the highest place
Its time I lift my voice
and beg for His blessing to fall

 

It is a simple song with only three refrains played repeatedly, but it is so very soothing to my hurting soul, and it serves to bring forth the joy that it speaks of.  When I think of pure joy I see an image of a little girl in a dress, arms held out, twirling around and around without a care in the world.

 

photo credit: Kazz.0 via photopin cc

photo credit: Kazz.0 via photopin cc

 

“But let all who take refuge in you be glad; let them ever sing for joy.  Spread your protection over them, that those who love your name may rejoice in you.”

–Psalms 5:11

I leave you with a prayer and a quote.  The prayer because, well,  we could all use a little extra prayer on our behalves and the quote, just because I love a good quote!

 Tonight my prayer for you is that you find joy in the small moments that make up a life.  May the Father’s joy be forever in your heart and may His hand lead you and guide you on your path.  🙂

“Never frown when you’re sad because you never know who may be falling in love with your smile”

–Christina Phan

 

What does your picture of pure joy look like?

Godspeed,

Mollie  ❤

Leave a Reply

