My adventures in painting!

I recently signed up for one of those painting classes.  You know the ones where you bring your beverage of choice, a large caramel iced coffee for me, and they guide you in painting a picture.   At least that’s what I thought I had signed up for, until I got there.   It turned out to be so much more.  A free paint session…my first thought was this is so not going to go well for me.   I have never painted anything in my life, besides the bathroom walls, and even those had to be redone.   A painter, I am not.  I ignored my immediate flight response.  You know the one that says you are going to fail miserably at this so you might as well leave before you have the chance to fail.  God had set the scene for me.  I didn’t know the three other women painting and so didn’t chat much with them till the end of the session.  My friend who owned the gallery and her partner had been called to the front to assist customers, and the friend who was supposed to come with me had been called to get her daughter due to her hubby working late.  I was uncomfortable not knowing anyone, but I would have surely talked myself out of painting if any of the circumstances had been different.

I picked up the paintbrush and stared at the blank canvas before me.  And then it was there.  A picture in my head where there had been nothing a moment before.  I got a verse as well to go along with the picture in my mind.  So I started.  What I ended up with wasn’t quite the picture in my head, but it was something I had created out of nothing.

August 07, 2014  Be The Light

August 07, 2014 Be The Light

You are the light of the world.  A city on a hill cannot be hidden.  Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl.  Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house.  In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.

                                                                                      –Matthew 5:14-16  

The above verse was the one in my head as I painted.

  I’m not saying I have a future as a painter, but I am so glad to have been able to push past my fears and doubts to discover something new about myself.  I also managed to walk away with a few new friends who find themselves in similar places in life as I.

 

Have you ever heard the phrase trial by fire?  Since I first heard God’s voice calling to me and turned towards Him that has been our relationship pattern.  I don’t want to do something, am sure that I can’t and He comes in insisting I do it anyway.  He sets the scene and pulls abilities out of me that I didn’t know where there.  When you are sitting there and He is pressing you to do something that is uncomfortable for you, I urge you to choose that moment to press in.  Don’t shy away and run for the hills.  God has been cultivating things in you since before you were born, and only He knows what those things are and how and when they will appear.  When you are standing in front of something scary and you are unsure, jump in.  You never know until you try.  Wouldn’t it be a shame to miss out on something great that God was trying to do through you because you were too scared to take the next step?

 “You miss 100 % of the shots you don’t take.”

–Wayne Gretzky

  Though we are not speaking of hockey, it still applies.  What shots are you missing?

 

Godspeed,

Mollie  ❤

If you are local I suggest you visit Courtin’ on the Square Gallery and Consignment!  It was a lot of fun and they have a great collection of items from local artists in their gallery.  🙂  Thank you Shari, for letting me participate in your test run painting class!

2 thoughts on “My adventures in painting!

  1. Well my friend, I am proud of you! As an artist myself who has only the Lord to lean on, I know the fear that struck my heart when I first painted. I think your painting is beautiful. I don’t just see light, but life, hope, joy, peace. Yay you!

    Like

    • Aww, thank you dear friend! I actually thought of you when the picture and verse popped into my head. 🙂 So thank you for putting your heart out there to serve as inspiration for the rest of us. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

